Wolfsburg and Newcastle Jets amongst teams to participate in Weifang Cup

This year the 11th edition of the Weifang cup will take place. The Weifang Cup is a football tournament which traditionally features invited national and club teams composed of under-20 players. The tournament is held by Chinese Football Association and Shandong Luneng Taishan F.C. every summer in the city of Weifang, China.

The tournament will take place from July 23rd untill the 29th and will feature 8 teams, that have already been identified. This year the following teams will participate:

Shandong Luneng (China)
Desportivo Brasil (Brazil)
Newcastle Jets (Australia)
Tokyo FC (Japan)
Guadulajara Chivas (Mexico)
Odense (Denmark)
Club Brugge (Belgium)
Wolsburg (Germany)

Last year the cup futured teams like Real Madrid, Benfica, the Chinese national youth team, and eventual winners Desportivo Brasil.

You may also like...